House Renovation Progress Report

Today I’m excited that our stair balusters and railings have finally been delivered! Yes you heard me right… When we had our hardwood floors put in, we had to take down the stair railings, and I have been living without stair railings for a few months now!  Literally you can walk right off the top floor and land on the 1st floor if you are not careful.  When you are 30 weeks pregnant and feeling a bit clumsy that is NOT a good thing.  So anyways… today our stair parts finally came in, and hopefully we can get them installed soon, so that I don’t have to worry about falling off the second floor when I go to the bathroom at night.

We are installing a cast iron staircase, thus it had to be specially delivered.  Cast iron is heavy!!..  The delivery guy said it was more than 300 lbs! (Poor guy was clonked on the head with our garage door during delivery…we prob have to get that door replaced some day also…)

However, I am happy to say that our upstairs bedroom and bathroom are pretty much finished!! I have been in major decorating mode the last few weeks.  I LOVE decorating.. its one of those passions, that I wish I somehow knew how to make money from.. (either that or Shopping. 🙂) I guess I would describe my style as Mediterranean. I love the contrast between light and dark, and clean lines, however not to the point where it would be considered modern.  I like light and breezy spaces with light walls and fabrics, with small pops of color. Also I’m obsessed with cast iron… When we first got married my mother bought us a kitchen table set with a metal medallion in the center. I’ve been obsessed with the look of Tuscan/ Mediterranean metal ever since.  Just imagine Greece.. somewhere along the coast with those beautiful metal balconies, with white fabric curtains billowing in the breeze… 🙂

Anyways.. here some picture of what I’ve accomplished thus far…


There are still some things that I want to add… The bed spread for example… I’m still looking for something that will add a little more color or texture. I made sure to hang some of our wedding pictures…  It seems a waste to pay so much money to get them done, and then only keep them in an album somewhere. Plus looking at them reminds me of that wonderful day, when my husband and I decided to make a commitment to each other, before friends, family, and God.  That my friends is PRICELESS. 🙂

This is how our bathroom is turning out…  My husband installed the bathroom tile himself, and did a great job.

None of our doors  have door knobs yet… Use the bathroom at your own risk! 🙂

So as you can see, there has been some progress, however for me it can’t be soon enough.  I want the baby to come home to a somewhat finished house.  There is still a lot of work to be done, especially downstairs.  (We want to take some walls down!) Upstairs we are still finishing up the guest bedroom, and I’m setting up the nursery.  The nursery is coming out pretty cute, and I can’t wait to show it to you. However I don’t want to take any pics until we set up the crib, and other baby furniture.

Anyone else out there in the middle of remodeling or setting up your nursery?? I would love to see some pics and get some more ideas!

