Tags

, , , , , ,

So a few days ago was my birthday, and my husband went all out to make the evening special for me.  He managed to get my family together at an awesome steak restaurant. (Dakota Steakhouse)  I had a steak and crab cake combo with garlic mashed potatoes, and a really good salad.  I have to say, I’m not usually a steak person, but it was pretty amazing, and the crab cake was beyond good. The decor of this restaurant was pretty cool too..very log cabin. (My husband managed to get us a table by the fireplace.)  He also surprised me (and family) with tickets to see BeauSoleil at the Colonial Theater.  This group artfully blends the Cajun traditional music of Louisiana, with elements of, New Orleans jazz, , country, and blues.  There was also guest performances by New Orleans master Saxophone player Charles Neville. It was a pretty awesome evening. I really enjoyed the music, and  even baby William was moving to the music inside me!

However… you may be wondering whats with the title of this post??  Well because there was a bit of a time crunch with the show starting at 8, we had to cut  our dinner a little short, and didn’t order dessert.  I didn’t mind this at all because I was pretty stuffed from the steak, but I guess my wonderful husband felt bad that I never had cake on my birthday.  So yesterday evening after working a whole day, and then taking a few tax clients, my cute husband decided to bake me a cake from scratch!! Still in his work clothes he slaved away in the kitchen to serve me up a chocolate cake with cream cheese frosting!  I tried to convince him that I didn’t need the extra calories, and that he should just relax after a long day, but he wouldn’t take no for an answer!

So here it is my husbands wonderful creation! (Keep in mind he’s never made a cake before)

He had a little trouble with the presentation, but I have to say it was delicious!

God has really blessed me with a wonderful loving husband!

