Tags

, , ,

I have been searching for the perfect baby bath tub since my little one turned about 4 months.

We already have the First Year’s Infant To Toddler Tub with Sling, having received it as a gift. I really liked the sling part when he was really little. (for like the first two months…) However, he quickly outgrew it. Without the sling, I was not impressed.  I found that the bump in the middle of the tub, which is supposedly supposed to keep him from sliding down,  hit him in the wrong spot. He would always slide over the bump, and it would stick right into his back, making him look very uncomfortable. Plus it kept him mostly suspended above the water, and not in it. He is a tall baby, 95th percentile, so maybe the tub was made for shorter babies.

Thus, I went on the hunt for a new tub. In the mean time, poor William had to take a bath in our bathroom sink, which was a little more comfortable, but still quit  cramped.

 Almost all the bathtubs I looked at had some sort of weird bumps and guards to position the baby; which I was not a big fan of. Today there are so many safety features on things, to the point of being ridiculous. I certainly don’t intend to leave him in there unsupervised for even a second.   I just want a simple tub, where my baby could sit in actual water!

So finally I stumbled upon the Hoppop bath tub. It seemed like exactly the thing I was looking for; simple, deep, and stylish too. So I took the plunge, and purchased one.

It is a little on the pricey side, but I must say I’m pretty happy with it.  It is geared more towards toddlers or a baby that can fully sit up. However, I found that by adding a non-slip mat, and a baby bath cushion, he was able to recline comfortably without sliding around. (He is still not old enough to sit without support.)

I like the fact that I will be able to use this tub for a very long time, because its nice and deep.  Right now he has plenty of room to stretch out and splash around, and it will prob. serve him pretty well into toddler years.  This makes me happy, because we still haven’t gotten to renovating the full bath in our home. As much as I scrub, the tub just never seems clean enough. I wouldn’t dream of putting the baby in it. So until we replace it, this will work perfectly.

UPDATE….

I’m adding two more pictures to this review because of the questions I’m getting.

In this picture you can see the Summer Comfy Bath Sponge that I use so that he can recline.  In the picture above you may notice a blue bath sponge…  That is the Safety 1st brand, and I wasn’t a big fan of it. It was too thin and slid down easily. The Summer bath sponge is much thicker, thus it provides more cushion for him.  After the bath I drain the tub, and squeeze all the water out of the bath sponge. It usually dries by morning.

20121205_172510In the following picture you can sorta see the Green Sprouts non-slip Bath Mat on the bottom. It has a lot of little suction cups which keep it in place. I find that it dries really quickly, and is mildew resistant.20121205_173216Hope this helps!

