Tags

, , , ,

I don’t know if anyone has noticed, but I have not blogged for a while.  This last week was both emotionally and physically exhausting for me, and blogging just wasn’t a priority.   Last Saturday, my husband had an accident while working on our house.  He fell 15 feet off a ladder, when the scaffolding beneath him buckled.  I accompanied him to the hospital by ambulance both in disbelief and heart-wrenching fear.

To make a long story short, I will say that I thank God that I still have a husband, and that he will recover in time to meet baby William who is due in 4 weeks.  Having fallen 15 feet, he broke both elbows, his nose in 3 places, and has several fractures in his face… not to mention the countless bruises.  The doctors say that he was very lucky; that they have seen a lot worse outcomes with falls from  a lot shorter distances.  All I can say is that it was God’s mercy that kept him from breaking his neck, spine, or having much more serious head injury.

He stayed in the hospital for 3 days, and when he was discharged, we gratefully accepted the offer to stay at my parents for a while, so that he wouldn’t have to climb all our stairs, and I could have some help taking care of him.

Today, we are finally home. Though very sore and awkward with two broken elbows, I can thankfully say that he is healing rather well.

We had so many things planned for that Saturday… We were rushing to complete numerous house projects. I was going to finish decorating the nursery, organize the kitchen, clean the car, buy some more things for the baby.  Yet, this past week has made me really stop and think about the more important things in life.  It has made me stop and contemplate my faith and my love.  The daily rush of life sometimes makes me forget how much I truly love my God and my family. Everything would be absolutely worthless to me if I lost either.

Thus… if I can learn at least one thing from this whole experience, it would be to take the time to appreciate the loved ones, which God has graciously blessed me with, and to show them my love and appreciation daily.

Thank God that I don’t have to say “the lesson was learned too late.”

-Elvira-

