Tags

, , , , , ,

So I wanted to do a little holiday inspired post.  Easter is around the corner, and I thought I would post a little tutorial on decorating Easter eggs.IMG_2321-2Usually we use candle wax to write or draw on the eggs and then dip them in dye. However I wanted to try something different. I came across this decoupage-style method, and I love how they came out, so I thought I would share.

To get started you need:

  • – eggs, hard-boiled (however many you want to decorate)
  • – 1 slightly whisked egg white
  • – a small brush 
  • – some pretty 3-ply napkins or pretty tissue paper

IMG_2314-2IMG_2334-2Separate the napkins so that you have only the top printed ply of the napkin. The thinner the napkin the better.I found that tissue paper worked well too, if you can find a pretty print that you like. Also, prints surrounded by white work best, because they blend better with the egg. Solid full-colored prints show creases more.

Cut out whatever piece of the print you want on your egg. Then hold the napkin against the egg and use the egg whites as you would Modge Podge to decoupage the napkin onto the egg.

IMG_2327-2-2

Smooth out any wrinkles, and then place them on a plate in the frig. to dry over night.  The next day rub a little oil over them to make them nice and shiny, and voila, you got some fancy looking Easter eggs you could use as decorations or serve.IMG_2319-2IMG_2327-2Technically you could eat these. Just peel the shell and there is a perfectly good egg inside. However I prefer them for decorative purpose. I made a little moss nest inside a bowl and will use them as part of an Easter table centerpiece. I like these because they remind me of Fabergé eggs, made popular by Russian Czars.

IMG_2323-2Did you know that the tradition of decorating eggs can be traced all the way back to the early Christians of Mesopotamia, who stained eggs red in memory of the blood of Christ, shed at his crucifixion.   In Christianity, they also symbolize the empty tomb of Jesus. Though an egg appears to be like the stone of a tomb, a bird hatches from it with life; similarly, the Easter egg, for Christians, is a reminder that Jesus rose from the grave, and that those who believe will also experience eternal life.  (Source: Wiki.)

Hope you have a blessed day,

-Elza-