Tags

, , ,

I have a new painting project.

A few days ago I got this lovely little French dresser from a thrift store. It has a few dings and scratches, but otherwise its a nice piece with dove-tailed drawers and solid construction.  However the finish is definitely dated.

20150127_233535 It might be hard to tell from the photograph but the finish is very cheap, and is actually some sort of laminate material over wood.  The grain is very fake looking, and the gold accent paint has a very craft store feel to it.

20150127_233545

The hardware on the piece is gorgeous however, with a lovely aged patina. Also I find the overall form of the piece to be pleasantly French inspired. So I’m hoping to transform it into something that looks a little more high-end.20150124_130620

I’ve been itching to get started on this project, but I have yet to go buy the particular paint color I want for this piece.  With all the snow we have been having, I haven’t had the chance to go buy it. Hopefully tomorrow I can go get some and start mixing some paint.

I will keep you updated with my progress.

Bye for now,

Elza